Will this work? Is Google advertising going to help me increase my customer base and generate more revenue or will it break the bank with no real results to show for in the end? These are all valid questions every small business owner asks himself as he’s embarking on this new and exhilarating process.
The answer is that it depends. Google AdWords can be a great investment for your business. Not only that Google owns more than 70% of the search market share, but reports have shown that online consumers who are exposed to display ads are 155% more likely to search for brand or segment specific keywords. But, at the same time, you can lose tens of thousands of dollars due to poorly optimized campaigns.
One of the most important things you need to understand is that to create an effective campaign you need a checklist. Here are the key elements you need to incorporate in your Google advertising to reap the benefits.Identify the Right Keywords
Before you get too excited about launching your first Google AdWords campaign, you need to make sure that there is, in fact, interest in your products or services. Use the Google AdWords Keyword Suggestion Tool to identify the keywords your audience is looking for, how often, how competitive the phrases are, and how much you will need to invest in advertising them.
Here are some of the questions you need to ask yourself to determine if a particular keyword is worth it:
Do People Search for This Keyword on Google? If the search volume is low, then there’s no point in investing in that particular keyword.
Are the People Searching for This Keyword Likely to Convert? Maybe the keyword has a decent search volume, but you need to look carefully at the user’s intent. Are they interested in purchasing the product/service or are just looking for information?
Calculate Your Cost per Click
An essential step you need to take before finalizing your keyword list is making sure that you are targeting only the key phrases that increase your chances of being profitable. In other words, you need to calculate your maximum cost per click (CPC) and compare it to your estimated CPC.
Here’s how to do it.
The formula you will need to calculate this cost includes the profit per customer, profit margins, and website conversion rates. Here’s how it looks:
Max CPC = (Profit per Customer) X (1 – Profit Margins) X (Website Conversion Rate)
Let’s say that your average profit per customer is $200 and out of every 1,000 visitors, 10 of them convert into customers. That means that your conversion rate is 1%. Let’s imagine that you have a 20% profit margin then your Max CPC would calculate something like this:
200 X (1 – 0.20) X 1 = $1.6Look at What Your Competition Is Doing
You have a list of keywords, and you know how much you can afford to invest to be profitable. So, it’s high time to set your Google AdWords campaign, launch it, and watch the money roll in, right?
Not so fast!
Here’s the thing: most probably, your competitors already tested these keywords and have gained valuable insights about what works and what doesn’t. Wouldn’t it be great if you could hack that intelligence and get access to all the data?
As it turns out, you can. With KeywordSpy.com, for example, you can add your competitor’s domain in the search bar and get a comprehensive list of the keywords they’re using, the search volume, CPC, and profitability.Determine Your Unique Value Proposition
Most probably there are a few products similar to yours. So, the question you need to ask yourself and highlight in your Google advertising is: why would my prospects choose me instead of my competitors?
That’s where determining your unique value proposition (USP) comes in handy.
The first thing you need to create an effective USP is to know your strengths. What makes you better than your competitors – is it your low prices, high-quality products, stellar customer support?
Then, try to determine what your audience dislikes about the industry and would like to change. For example, if you’re a home delivery business, most customers hate having to wait for an hour to get their food.
Last but not least, look at your competitors and see how they’re promoting themselves. Keep in mind that you need to differentiate yourself from them and come up with a selling proposition that is, in fact, unique.Make Them an Offer They Can’t Refuse
It may sound like a cliché, but this old wise quote stands true in advertising. If you want to grab the attention of your audience, you need to make them an offer they just can’t say no to – it’s as simple as that.
Here’s how to do it:
Make Sure You Provide Value: The products or service you advertise must offer more perceived value than the price.
Make Your Offer Believable: If your offer seems too good to be true, then your prospects may become a little wary about clicking on it. Promise them something valuable, but believable enough to pick their interest.
Money Back Guarantee: One of the biggest fears people have when shopping online is getting scammed. An excellent way to reduce the risk aversion is to offer a money back guarantee whenever you have the chance.
Create a Winning Ad
One of the things that make Google AdWords so great is that you only pay when someone clicks on your ads. At the same time, if your ads are vague or poorly optimized, they can generate unqualified clicks that will drain your budget fast.
Your Google ads need to include four key components:
A magnetic headline that lets your audience know right from the start the value they can get if they continue reading.
Two description lines that state your USP and benefits, describe your offer and provide social proof.
The display URL needs to be different than your domain name. You need to create a separate landing page for your campaign.
Instead of a conclusion, here’s an additional tip that can make the difference between a successful campaign and one that falls flat. Make sure to track your performance. If you skip this essential step, you will never know which keywords generate sales or if you need to tweak your headline.
If you are looking to improve your online marketing results get in touch with us.
We have had AIA running our Google and Facebook ads for all of our stores for over 2 years and we can honestly say that we could not be happier with the results. They are always reliable, ready to answer any questions that we have and their campaigns have provided us with an amazing return on investment. Highly Recommended!
Wow after trying so many different agencies and getting average results AIA has turned out to be the best decision I ever made. After crunching the numbers 6 months in we are making 4x roi profit from google ads and 11x roi profit from Facebook ads. I highly recommend AIA to anyone who wants a serious digital marketing company (except other competing builders!) keep up the good work guys. - Peter Monument Projects
Great team to work on your online marketing strategy. Billy is very knowledgable and very liberal with his experience but most of all very fair and reasonable. Great partner to work with in building your online business!
Nate Mansfield-du Toit
Blessings to Billy and the team! Although I have been somewhat annoying in my constant nagging for free advice Billy never turned me away! He is patient and kind and it reflects through his team and business! It's a pleasure working with the team here and refreshing to do business with locals. More importantly; Locals who understand our culture and work ethic expectations.
Billy and his team know their stuff. First day we had 3 booked jobs. They got our campaign up and running and generating revenue in 3 days.
National Car Brokers
Ive been dealing with website marketing companies for years. From low level to huge brand names with huge fees. All hoping for them to deliver what they said they would. All i got were atlases when i was promised the world. My experience with AIA and Billy and his team was the complete opposite. Ive been so impressed with his work ethic, attention to detail and truly caring about my business. They have gone above and beyond on many occasions. They have delivered results far exceeding my expectations . The problem i now have is that i cant keep up with the leads. AIA has built so much trust with me that i have given them all of my marketing from facebook, Google Adwords, Youtube, Remarketing, Instagram, form design, ad creation to webhosting and will now get them to do SEO. I wont go anywhere else for anything. No hesitation recommending AIA to anyone.. Chris David . Director. National Car Brokers
These guys have been great. Straight from the get go Billy helped with some useful advice. I have hired them to run a Facebook campaign and been very happy with the results so far. We are getting around 10X return on our ad spend. Billy has always been super approachable and helpful and has been an absolute pleasure to work with. Susannah - M DREAMS Shoes
I was really worried when I signed up with AIA because I am only a small business. The results from my Google and Facebook campaigns have been amazing! I highly recommend them for anyone who is looking to get great results.
By far the absolute best experience Ive had with an agency. Its so refreshing to finally have found a business that knows what their doing and comes through with the results. I had recently tried a campaign with a large agency and paid huge fees and I was very disappointed by the lack of results. As soon as AIA took over our Google ads our online sale went up by nearly 9x! I can't recommend these guys enough. Jim, Dive Newcastle
Maria here from Ladies Running Errands. I've been with AIA for going on 5 years and only just realised I'd never written them a review! These guys have been amazing. I had all of my Google Advertising with Yellow Pages. As soon as I stopped it with them and AIA took over I noticed a massive difference to the amount of enquiries we started getting. AIA has also helped with the design and development of my website, and social media advertising. Always on call and ready to help, the web design was seemless and looks fantastic it was exactly what I wanted. And the leads just keep coming in! With the Help of AIA I have been able to Build a Franchise and I am well on my way to hitting my target of 10 franchises sold in 10 years. AIA have been great and I Highly highly recommend anyone looking for Google Ads, Facebook, website design or development help.
AIA Have been amazing. Since signing up with them about 8 Months ago our revenue has gone up 10 fold. They know what their talking about when it comes to marketing on Google Ads and Facebook. Also their developer has helped immensely on our Shopify site to help us scale without too many headaches. I highly Recommend them to anyone wanting their business to get some serious growth! - Jason, Hillview Farms
I've been with Billy at AIA for over 5 years. I started with a small start up slate roofing company NSW Slate Roofing which quickly grew thanks to the success of the online campaigns. 3 years ago I also started a second business City 2 Surf Roofing which, again, has exploded. We have more quotes than we can manage. I can't thank Billy and his team at AIA enough! Their Google Ads and SEO knowledge is second to none! I highly recommend them. Kinsley Denning
The most helpful and effective online marketing company around. They know how to get results. Their websites and online marketing techniques are eon point. They even take the extra time to help with my desktop and IT issues! Highly recommended.
I don't leave reviews often but this one is definitely deserved. I have been through a few marketing agencies however none have worked. Australian Internet Advertising have put my campaign live today, and within the first hour I have already received inquires about my business. Cannot thank Olivia and Bill enough. I have already referred 3 other businesses to use there services. Thank you once again
From the very first call with Billy, I knew AIA would be the right company to handle LTrent Driving School's google ads and SEO. Billy has helped us reduce our cost per lead and cost per conversion overall and has nearly doubled our organic traffic. He has always been very accomodating and will go above and beyond for us. Thanks Billy and Rossi for all your work and we look forward to continuing to work with you!
Tight, targeted advertising. We were overwhelmed with leads, choked the campaign after 24 hours down 80% and still delivered +$25K of sales on a budget of $8 a day over a long weekend. Phenomenal results. Can't speak highly enough of AIA who deliver results through expertise. No BS. Created an integrated values-based marketing strategy, focused on quality content that targeted our ideal customer and with AIA's help constructed a website that converted, and then let loose with the online digital advertising campaign. Months in the making, just days to get amazing results. Holy Moly! Imaging being overwhelmed with leads? What a great problem we created! Can't recommend these guys enough. They go the extra mile, know their stuff and won't waste your time or money. Stop stuffing around with pretenders, ring AIA and talk to Billy.
I highly Recommend AIA. My Google Ads campaigns had been running for years with the help of Google employees. After speaking to Billy from AIA I could see that there were some opportunities for us to be able to track the amount of phone calls and emails we received fromt he camapign so we could try to improve the campaigns performance while tracking the results accurately. Since having given AIA the management of our Google Ads the cost per enquiry has gone down by more than 60% From $152 per enquiry down to $48 per enquiry. We are now getting more than double the business fromt eh same budget. Australian Internet Advertising has also recently launched our new e-commerce site and we are very happy with it. It was a large job and the guys there had great communication and got the job done is a reasonably short period of time. Thanks Guys Keep up the good work.
Our recent dealing with Australian internet advertising and its marketing team (especially Heidi)was excellent. We had never done a facebook campaign so they took the time to explain in detail how it worked and the costs involved with great transparency. In no time the campaign was underway with results coming in within the first week. In a period of 2 months we received over 250 leads which converted into about 40 sales. Their great communication, professionalism and friendly approach made it an enjoyable experience. We have no hesitation in recommending Australian internet advertising to anyone doing a facebook or other internet campaign.